Delhi Capitals in IPL final for the first time in history

Nepali leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane affiliated Delhi Capitals has entered the final of the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) T20 cricket at the UAE.

Delhi Capitals entered the final by defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad by 17 runs in the second qualifier held in Abu Dhabi on Sunday night.

Batting in reply to Delhi’s target of 190-runs, Hyderabad lost 8 wickets in 20 overs and managed to score only 172 runs.

Kane Williamson’s 67-run half-century for Hyderabad did not help the team win. Similarly, Abdul Samad added 33 runs while Rashid Khan scored 11 runs.

Manish Pandey was dismissed for 21 while Priyan Garg scored 17 runs. Jason Holder scored 11 runs and captain David Warner scored just two runs.

Delhi’s Kagiso Rabada took 4 wickets to wrap up Hyderabad cheaply. Marcus Stoinis took 3 wickets and Akshar Patel took 1 wicket.

Earlier, winning the toss and batting first, Delhi lost 3 wickets in 20 overs and scored 189 runs.

Shikhar Dhawan played a half century innings of 78 runs for Delhi. Shimran Hetmyer remained unbeaten on 42 runs.

Similarly, Marcus Stoinis added 38 runs while captain Shreyas Air scored 21 runs.

Hyderabad’s Jason Holder, Sandeep Sharma and Rashid Khan took 1/1 wickets.

With this, Delhi has entered the final for the first time in the history of IPL.

However, leg-spinner Sandeep has not got a chance to play this season.

Now Delhi will play Mumbai Indians, the defending champions. The final match will be played in Dubai on Tuesday.

Hyderabad is out of the competition.

Earlier, Delhi had lost to Mumbai by 57 runs in the first qualifier. However, despite losing according to IPL rules, Delhi got a chance to play in the second qualifier.

Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by six wickets in the eliminator to advance to the second qualifier.

Next Post

EPL: Liverpool & Manchester City settled 1-1 draw, Aston Villa stunned Arsenal

Mon Nov 9 , 2020
Liverpool struck first through Mohamed Salah but Manchester City leveled thanks to Gabriel Jesus, meaning a 1-1 draw on Sunday. Kevin De Bruyne’s missed penalty proved costly for Manchester City as they played out an engrossing 1-1 draw with Liverpool at the Etihad Stadium. Mohamed Salah did convert a 13th-minute spot-kick as the reigning Premier League champions struck the […]
Nepali Version